Playoff Sunday with PowerShell … Huh?

Since today is play of Sunday I wanted to make my a random generating score program . Use this to tell what is going to happen today 🙂

Sample output :

 NY Giants:10GB Packers:

20

SD Cahrgers:

13

NE Patriots:

19

Have Fun Today !

If you would like me to explain any line let me know . I didn’t comment like I should have but I could fix that. Also if you want to change or add anything to make it better let me know .

Chris



#####################################################
#Scriptname: Get-FootballScore.ps1
#Created Date: 1/20/2008
#####################################################


Function Get-FootballScore

{

#create new instance of random object
$intNumofScores = New-Object system.Random

#create random max number of scores from 1-7
$intMaxNumofScores = $intNumofScores.Next(1,7)



#create a random Touchdown or fieldgoal
$score = New-Object system.Random




for ($s = 1;$s -le $intMaxNumofScores;$s++)
{

$intTypeofScore=$score.Next(1,3)

switch -c ($intTypeofScore)
{
{$_ -eq 1} {$intTypeofScore = 7} #Touchdown
{$_ -eq 2} {$intTypeofScore = 3} #FieldGoal
{$_ -eq 3} {$intTypeofScore = 2} #Safety
}
$FinalScore = $FinalScore + $intTypeofScore

}
$FinalScore

}


Write-Host "NY Giants:"
Get-FootballScore
Write-Host "GB Packers:"
Get-FootballScore
""
""



Write-Host "SD Cahrgers:"
Get-FootballScore
Write-Host "NE Patriots:"
Get-FootballScore

